Tatton Hall was bequethed to the National Trust in 1958 Maurice Lord Egerton at the time of his death, and while the hall has provided enjoyment for many people from across the world, the history of the hall stretches further.
Starting life as a Manor House, now known as The Tatton Old Hall around the start of 15th century, it was originally built by Sir Richard Brereton, this Old hall was developed over the years and by 1585 a two storey right angle wing had been added. By the 1770’s the New Hall was completed and the old Hall was repurposed as a farmhouse before eventually being converted into three cottages.
Around 1716 a new hall was built and in 1758, Samuel Egerton, the then owner began to improve on the house, eventually in the 1770’s, Egerton commissioned Samuel Wyatt, the famous English architect and engineer, to design a Neoclassical house. Sadly before the house could be completed, both Wyatt and Egerton died, this led to a delay in the completion of the house, the house didn’t see completion until 1816, the completion was overseen by Wyatt’s nephew, Lewis, to a smaller scale than initially planned. The house was originally planned to have eleven bays but under Lewis’ jurisdiction, it was finished with seven.
In order to furnish and finish the house off, the then owner, Wilbraham Egerton, purchased a collection of paintings and fine furniture from Gallows in Lancaster.
Following its completion, the Hall has had many prestigious guests, from the Prince of wales to the Shah of Persia, and with these guests came a large collection of objects and trinkest from around the world.
Tatton Hall is crammed full of history and culture and while it may take a while to dig deeper into this rich history, its well worth the time.